karyn good romantic suspense and romance
Karyn Good
Karyn Good

karyn good's books

karyn good's book off the gridOFF THE GRID
The Wild Rose Press
November 7, 2014
ISBN: 978-1-62830-218-9 (Digital)
ISBN: 978-1-62830-217-2 (Print)

Available at:
The Wild Rose Press

She wants to save the world. All he wants is a date.

A committed doctor to Vancouver's inner city, nothing fazes Sophie Monroe—until a pregnant teenager shows up at her clinic on Christmas Eve requesting sanctuary and claiming the baby's father is one of the city's most influential businessmen. Sophie is in over her head and thankful when aid shows up in the form of an attorney who's a little too confident and a lot too sexy.

Family Law expert Caleb Quinn just wants a date, a chance to prove he isn't the elitist jerk Sophie assumes. Helping deliver a baby is not what he has in mind. But before long protecting a traumatized teenager and her son become his first priority. Even if saving them pits him against the baby's father, a childhood friend. A man who will do anything to keep his dark side private.

But justice never comes cheap. Will doing the right thing cost Sophie and Caleb their reputations? Or their lives?

Casual relationships weren’t her thing. Once she’d yearned for more. For the commitment other women scoffed at. Then she’d learned her lesson. It didn’t mean she didn’t crave family. She refused to ask about the woman from his office. It was none of her business. Neither was he. But renewed determination to resist him didn’t mean he wasn’t getting to her.

No soft music played. The dim lighting was courtesy of an unlit dingy hallway. The smell of antiseptic and desperation laced the air. It didn’t matter. Sophie wanted to meet his challenge. She didn’t want to dodge. Or object. She wanted to kiss the hell out of Caleb Quinn.

So she stepped back. “I can’t do this with you. I need to know I matter. That I’m the only name on your list.”

Caleb took her face in his warm hands. “Sophie, right now there is no one else but you.”

She wrapped her hands around his wrists and tugged them away. “But there’s a long line behind me and I’m choosing not to join the queue.”

“Don’t.” He refused to let go of her hands when she tried to release them, brought them up between them. “Don’t toss this aside.”

“I don’t do casual.”

“There won’t be anything casual about it.”

top

reviews

The mix of characters made for real conflict and a passionate love story. I would recommend the book to anyone who likes a strong dose of realism with a satisfying romance. - Mary Balogh, Author of the Survivors Club Series

This is a story which never loses sight of it's purpose, to keep the reader in suspense as well as being able to watch a romance flourish. I recommend it for an entertaining read. - Annette Bower, Author of Moving On, and A Woman of Substance

Very well written novel in the vein of Allison Brennan or Roxanne St. Claire - with multi-dimensional characters, hot action, and spicy romance. - B.E. Sanderson, Author and Blogger

This is an intriguing tale. The characters are interesting and at times funny. I felt the frustration of both Sophie and Caleb and their plight. The plot moves quickly and held my interest a little too well; I would have read it at red lights if people behind me hadn’t kept honking. - Erika, Reader

top

top